Poets logo

Life’s Playground

Coming of age poem

By Rowan Finley Published 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Photo taken by Eugene Golovesov on pexels.com

left brain

right brain

teeter

totter

swing up

swing down

right hook

left shook

with sand

in box

and toys

what joys

of being

a child

at heart

break apart

the train

the game

I learned

they warned

me to

be kind

and how

I pined

to be

young and

free again

jungle gym

sliding down

without a

frown or

smiling

smirk cause’

I broke

my brother’s

train and

he’s trying

to seek

revenge

yes a tinge

of anger

as he

chases me

through the

field of

daisies

my ribbon

skips into

the wind

and I

rend it

farewell

and adieu

with all

my old

childish

ways and

frays

childrens poetrynature poetry
2

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Colleen Walters3 months ago

    Lyrical, melodical, swirling, twirling … love this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.