Poets logo

Life's Dream

A poem

By Jessica SmithPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image from Google

Again I find myself in the same position,

curled up in a ball crying my heart out,

It's like there's some kind of opposition,

to me fulfilling the dream that life's all about.

Everyone dreams about that one,

the one who will love them

and hold them when all is done.

Everyone goes out on a limb.....

Everyone in this world is searching for love,

everyone only wants someone to understand,

everyone wishes in their hearts to find a dove,

so that they can go lie in the sand.

Everyone likes a little romance.

Everyone wants some honesty.

Everyone has someone they'd like to ask to dance.

Honesty is the best policy....

Or you'll never find your other half,

you'll never learn to just laugh,

you'll never know that feeling of love.

Every girl wants someone to hold her.

Every girl likes presents deep inside.

No girl likes the words 'we were'.

No girl likes having to hide.

All I ever asked for was someone to understand me,

and love me for all of who I am,

why is this too much to ask for?

I really don't understand!

I know I'm not the perfect person,

I know I may be hard to love,

but in all honesty, I'm trying,

doesn't that mean anything up above?

All I ever wanted was a family,

to love and be loved in return.

Now my childhood is almost over.

My dream is passing out of sight.....

There's only one chance left for me now,

but each time I try, to reach out and grab it,

It turns out leaving me broken-hearted,

Are dreams even worth chasing anymore?

love poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Smith

Just a college student trying to get by. I'm majoring in linguistics for my undergrad, and planning to pursue computational linguistics for a graduate degree.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.