Poets logo

Life is But a Dream

Falling gently into every goodnight.

By Charles WaltonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Life is but a dream

Especially when the setting is a recreation of everything I’ve seen,

And In the end they just want my heart and my soul in their hand,

As if I am a puppet rather than the puppet man.

If only I were a real boy maybe I wouldn’t be haunted by the matter at hand.

Slit throats and stab wounds again and again,

I am real can you feel my hand I don’t know what’s really going on but please please don’t leave again.

I shot and didn’t miss, hit him in his head you should have seen the way his body went limp.

Then around the corner came another

off the balcony I went and already under my own cover,

Come out come out wherever you are they’re looking and they want to play a game with your soul,

Please please they beg just write me in your song I’m dying to be sold.

Help me and I can give you anything you want.

I am real can’t you see I can take life but if you weren’t real was it a life or what’s mine,

I could feel the blade as I forced it past his skin.

Blood on my hands watching as it drains down the road, see how the blood river flows.

Where am I heaven hell or eternity god let me know.

Life is but a dream but the same thing really does get old

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Charles Walton

I am a poet and a man. Just a few of my poems, if you like them my book is now available on Amazon “Letters to Myself Through Time"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.