Poets logo

Life In Color

Whether you choose to focus on the dull & dreary or the bright & optimistic is all up to you

By KatPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Life In Color
Photo by Ryan Loughlin on Unsplash

I am my trauma, heartbreak, and pain

I can feel the memories flood back as the clouds turn to gray

I try to cleanse myself in the downpour of the fresh spring rain

But I see myself, cheeks stained black, begging you to stay

I fall to my knees onto the damp yet coarse light brown sand

I wonder "why" as I stare out at the uncompromising and murky waves

My vision obscured by the endless stream of tears; this isn't what we planned

The volatile and dark ocean beckons me to join the rest in their early graves

Just as I am about to surrender, the sinister black clouds begin to part

The once ominous sky now a beautiful blue as a familiar voice rings in my ears

The warmth of the shining and bright yellow sun signifying a fresh start

Your hand in mine and the tranquil tide wash away all of my fears

I am my resilience, forgiving nature, and kindness

Without your emotions clouding your perception the colors of life are incredible to behold

Choose the things that make you happy and leave the past behind us

Life is what you make of it and there is still too much of my story left to be told

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Kat

I have been an avid reader since the age of 6. Creative Writing was always my favorite course. I found this website by chance and figured I would give it a go. When I'm not at work I'm playing with my dog or reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.