Poets logo

Life Drunk, Dead Sober

A Poem

By K.B. Silver Published 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Life Drunk, Dead Sober
Photo by Adam Jaime on Unsplash

I’ll sip on the times my forefathers spent.

They left concentrated cubes of generational pain to dilute my stronger spirits, and explain my empty cups.

Fill it up

I will have a taste of my own past vintage.

Swirling it around, finally giving it some feet.

Fill it up

I take a swig from the ale of my swirling frantic forward somersaulting.

Throwing myself end over end each morning, taking a new foaming tankard along for the ride.

Fill it up

Downing future-tinis to the beat, life disappearing down the hole in my head.

Every step forward, is another day gone, take a step back, and life might fade to black.

Fill it up

Fill my cup, another drink another day.

The second the lies dry up, every painful wound and memory is left barren on the ground, uncovered, dead sober.

K.B. Silver

I don’t drink alcohol anymore. Not because of a terrible personal battle with alcoholism, but because I watched my father battle, and I have a mental illness health battle. So when I realized even a single serving of alcohol was having serious repercussions on my mood (I can, as the kids say, “hold my liquor,” but even one beer will keep me up all night, and manic episodes are quickly triggered by alcohol usage), I decided to cut it out completely. I have been very happy with my personal decision and never looked back, but to be fair I wasn’t addicted when I made my choice. Cutting out sugar has not been so easy. I have made it a month or two before, and I think I could do it, but I can easily admit I am addicted to sugar.

social commentarysad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

K.B. Silver

Writing to sort the trapped ideas, and unsaid words left inside my mind. My brand is BlockWife. I am reselling, writing, and creating content on multiple platforms, check me out on link tree https://linktr.ee/blockwife

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.