Poets logo

Life after Mom's Death!

"I'm now a slave"

By Gloria PenelopePublished about a month ago 1 min read
1
Life after Mom's Death!
Photo by Tadeusz Lakota on Unsplash

I am a slave in my own mother's household.

His mistress mistreats me.

She beats me almost daily.

She is only his mistress.

She is not yet married to my father.

My late mother owned the house in which we now live.

She paid for it with her savings.

That was before death snatched her.

My father was unemployed when my mother bought a home.

Both of my parents embraced me and made promises.

I recall the bond my parents shared.

My father forgot the closeness they shared with Mom.

He moved on extremely quickly.

It has not even been six months since my mother passed away.

My father already brought his mistress.

I'm starting to think my father knew what killed my mother.

And I am suffering at the hands of his mistress.

How I wish my mother was still alive.

My life has changed since my dad brought his mistress.

He doesn't believe me each time I try to explain what she does to me.

I blame death, which took my mother by surprise.

I wish God could act on my mother's behalf.

I wish God could save me.

I am now a slave. 

sad poetryheartbreakFamily
1

About the Creator

Gloria Penelope

I create poetry, short stories, books, and articles based on my crazy thoughts and wild ideas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • “M”about a month ago

    It is very difficult to lose one of your parents at an early age 🥲

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.