Poets logo

Liberation

For anyone trying to find their voice

By Maria Shimizu ChristensenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
Liberation
Photo by Patrick Amoy on Unsplash

My voice is sexy and strong

and somewhat deep

for a woman.

It is not a child's voice -

breathy and high pitched

and eager to please.

I please myself these days

with the sound of my voice.

I have things to say.

It took a long time

to find my voice.

I experimented

with tone and timbre

and facial gestures to match.

Content

was not a consideration.

I lost my voice once,

whispering sweet nothings

until nothing

was all I had left to say.

But I found it again,

my voice,

cracked and hoarse from disuse,

and tried it on

like old gloves that always fit.

It is with me always now

and I listen when I speak

with my voice -

sexy and strong

and somewhat deep

for a woman.

inspirational
10

About the Creator

Maria Shimizu Christensen

Writer living my dreams by day and dreaming up new ones by night

The Read Ink Scribbler

Bauble & Verve

Instagram

Also, History Major, Senior Accountant, Geek, Fan of cocktails and camping

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.