Poets logo

Lexi

The sweet, precious dog who went to her reward today. Our family will never be the same.

By Chloë J.Published about a year ago 1 min read
3

For sixteen years, I watched, sweet friends,

Keeping you safe from hurt;

Mailmen, guests, and bad boyfriends,

Had to put in the work.

//

Before my sniffing, barking snout,

All who came did pass;

If they smelled wrong, I showed them out-

I made them leave en masse.

//

I got to watch my people grow-

How precious were those years!

From toddlers then to college folk,

My fur would dry their tears.

//

I was, you see, the softest friend

That you could ever meet.

From my two ears, always upend,

Down to my four Grinch feet.

//

My people liked to walk and play,

And I liked that stuff too!

Sometimes, though, I’d run away,

But I came back to you!

//

You guys got big, and so did I,

Though not too big for hugs.

Even at sixteen, I was spry,

Rolling all on the rug.

//

But sixteen years is a long time

For a dog like me.

After a while, my legs got sore,

And it was hard to see.

//

When God sent me to guide you guys,

He said it was a loan.

I held on so long, but in my eyes,

You saw it was time for Home.

//

I don’t hurt now, and I can see,

I’m watching you right now!

I’ll keep you safe from up here, be

Glad, if your grief allows.

//

We’ll meet again, in painless Joy,

I’ll be okay ‘til then.

There’s lots of smells, and lots of toys,

And so many new friends!

//

I wish my fur was there to dry

The tears you weep for me,

But please, sweet fam’ly, do not cry,

I am forever Free.

///

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.