Poets logo

Letters Never Sent

“Series 1: Safe Haven”

By JuliAnne CedarPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

It’s hard to look back with clear eyes. My vision blurry. You were always just beyond my reach. I thought it would be us, you know. I thought we would build a life together by the sea. But that dream was built in the sand. The waves would come crashing to the shore and carry that dream far beyond reality.

A part of me will go on living, while another part of me will always wonder what could have been. As I listen to the wind outside my window now, I know I am safer where I am, just beyond your reach. I cannot go back. I also cannot stay here. A destiny without you awaits me, and while that hurts, I know the universe somehow saved me.

As the days turn into months and the months into years, I will think of you. When the seasons change and the trees become heavy with the weight of their fruit, I will think of you. When I see blue eyes, it will be you who haunts the long halls of my heart. When I sleep, you will wander the corridors of my mind.

This is my release. This is my peace. This is my life, and for the longest time, I wanted you in it. I know I deserve better now. I know you can never be happy with what you have and will always look for reasons why it wouldn’t work. Though I’ve never felt your hands around my throat, I know now that you have the capability to destroy a life.

Author: JuliAnne Cedar

Image: Source unknown

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreakDating
Like

About the Creator

JuliAnne Cedar

I’ve been writing for many years. My previous works have been shared in print publication, Elephant Journal, Medium, and WordPress.

Most of my writing is nonfiction. I most often write about spirituality, life musings, poetry, and prose.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.