Poets logo

Letter To Heaven

Things left undone

By Jennifer Lorraine - Bloch McGeePublished about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
27
Letter To Heaven
Photo by Danist Soh on Unsplash

Dear Mom,

You left something behind

during your last visit.

I am not sure what to call it? Perhaps,

this was something from your childhood?

Your granddaughter adores it. I had to get a tie and hook for it

so that she could attach it to a loop in her backpack.

She carefully tucked it, like she does, into an the inside pocket.

You know the one, where she likes to keep her wishing objects?

You know she doesn't like to wear necklaces, so a chain was out of the

question!

I have been so busy that I haven't had time to open the small envelope

you left for me. It is difficult to have time to myself when my daughter

takes up all my free time.

* * *

Hi again! Since I hadn't sent the letter yet I decided to add to it

before mailing.

I finally opened the envelope.

I assumed it was a letter that you forgot to send snail mail.

You are always in my thoughts.

You are always in my heart.

Grandchildren are a joy for the soul.

I know you are watching over my daughter.

I just wish you had met her while you were still living.

All my love,

Your Daughter

Elegy
27

About the Creator

Jennifer Lorraine - Bloch McGee

*Imagination is the plaything of fairies. Without imagination we are doomed*

My heart and soul goes into my writing. If I don't bleed a little, I haven't done it right.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 27 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Ameer Bibi30 days ago

    Congratulations for top story I agree sometimes we are to much busy or fed up not even wants to do little things

  • Manisha Dhalani30 days ago

    Heartwarming and sad - so well written. Congrats on top story!

  • Your beautiful message creates a soothing hug that transcends absence by tying love and memories together.

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenlerabout a month ago

    Jennifer, this is so poignant and resonates for all of us asking all those existential questions about heaven, family, life, and love. Thanks you for sharing and congrats on TS!

  • Basit Aliabout a month ago

    Wow! what a spiritual dialogue of daughter in a lighthearted mood whose warmth and fragrance goes to the deep roots of reader's heart. EXCELLENT.

  • A. J. Schoenfeldabout a month ago

    I love this. It reminds me of conversations I have with my father now that he's passed. My son calls the jacket he inherited his "hug from Grandpa." Sometimes kids are much better at grieving than we are.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Lovely and sad both together.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    "wishing objects" Oh yes, this really hit me. Congratulations on your top story

  • ROCK about a month ago

    New subscriber! Congratulations, Bravo, and Hooray for Top Story!

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Oh, fab, so good to see this got Top Story, Congrats Jennifer!

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Damn. this is heartbreaking and beautiful and loving and sad and pretty...loved this. It also has this very light and easy conversational tone, from a technical side. Well done Jennifer.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.