Poets logo

Letter 08/02/21

08/02/21

By Emery PinePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

08/02/21

Dear Unnamed,

You fell in love with me at first sight— or so you say. That’s all I’ve ever wanted to have— a fairytale type of love. My dad claims he loved my mom at first sight. He’s always been so sure he loved her. I love quickly and unconditionally. I’ve always wanted it in return, but never thought I’d find it. And then I found you. And i could not be more grateful or happy or lucky.

I have a problem where I love too quickly and too entirely. I pour my soul into my love, and lose myself. People take advantage of my love. Most people are really good at taking and not giving. I believe there should be equal give and take. It’s a boundary issue. So I’m working on it with my therapist.

I turn 20 in a week and a half, but I am ready to settle down. I think I always have been, really. I feel crazy for being so ready. But I desperately want to find my forever and after. I want to find a love that transcends death. I want to find a love I have always found in my past lives and will always be called to in all of my future lives. I want to find someone who makes me believe in soulmates.

I read about this kind of love in my books, and therefore, it is probably not real. We, as dreamers, write about what we want with a passion, not what we have. So I will likely never find my always. But you said it was love at first sight for you, and I don’t know if I believe in coincidences. You make me wonder if you could be who I’ve always dreamed about.

Love,

Yours

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Emery Pine

I’m a poet with sprinklings of fiction. I write with the soul, so I hope you find it interesting and relatable

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.