Poets logo

Let Us Begin

Fall after Fall

By Rebecca DalmasoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Let Us Begin

Fall down seven times, get up eight

This time I swear I won't make a mistake

Brace myself for a bumpy ride

Prepare to open the doors that lead inside

Issues knock at the door then come rushing in

They prod and they poke and say "let us begin"

I'm a little girl now, only eight years old

Still don't understand why I never told

Fell in love with a girl in my sixteenth year

Wrote it all in my journal every hope, every fear

I came home from school on a normal day

My mother sat at the table reading away

The whole world must have heard her shout

Take your school bag and get the hell out

I never want to see your face again

You disgust me child, you are one of them

I quit school and got a job down at the Bar

Thought I could save all my money, planned to go far

Met so many strangers at the bar late at night

Now alone in the world, I got caught up in the life

Tequila for breakfast, chased with a purple pill

The lines and the joints, I hunted every thrill

The party is over but you still remain

Left holding my addiction and writhing in pain

So many years spent filled with anger and rage

Blamed the whole world for my emotional cage

It has taken fall after fall but now I finally see

What went wrong in my life was always Me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Dalmaso

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.