Poets logo

Let’s Be Gentle

A poem about compassion.

By The Soulful Scribbler Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Let’s Be Gentle
Photo by Matt Collamer on Unsplash

Sitting in a bus and staring at dozens of uptight faces,

That looked deeply anxious with unresting glances.

Sensing an epiphany so profound and so pure,

I pinched myself so strongly just to make sure.

Opposite me sat a woman of seventy,

Full of blissful and benevolent beauty,

Making me wonder how fortunate she must be,

To look so utterly vibrant and sufficiently healthy.

When our eyes met only for a split second,

I finally knew my new ability in its actuality.

Flashes of life events fabricated I reckoned,

Giving me an insight into the woman’s shocking reality.

Soaking in sadness and mourning over her childhood friend’s recent demise,

Worrying about her aging body’s flare-up of agonies that are king-size,

Dealing with her alcoholic son’s dwindling marriage life’s final days,

She just sat there opposite me with the energizing aura that she unfailingly portrayed.

Looking around me and deciphering the stories behind similar faces,

Finding in them the most consistent truth, full of scars, wounds, and agony,

I was infused with a magical feeling of oneness that I’d forever embrace,

I closed my eyes and thanked my unforgettable epiphany.

So,

Let’s be gentle,

Let’s not frown,

Let’s smile more,

Let’s not rage anymore,

Let’s help,

Let’s not deceive,

Let’s be compassionate,

Let’s not be crooked,

Let’s hug often,

Let’s hold hands,

Let’s not backstab,

Let’s emit positivity,

Let’s omit negativity,

Let’s empathize with each and every one,

Let’s not patronize,

Let’s be kind,

Let’s be gentle to everyone that’s living,

Let’s be ever so gentle as we need it now like never before in the earth’s making.

................................

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

The Soulful Scribbler

Teacher, Scientist, Writer, Reader, Poet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.