Poets logo

Let Me Wallow, Let Me Weep

A poem about the power of depression.

By Elias WayPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Let Me Wallow, Let Me Weep
Photo by Matthew Henry on Unsplash

"Depression is like a virus, it needs the host to thrive, it survives by convincing the host that it is necessary."

I have never before

felt so alone.

But please do not touch me.

Let me wallow, let me weep.

My body grows weary

from staying afloat.

But please do not help me.

Let me wallow, let me weep.

My mind wreaks havoc,

shrieking in its tomb.

But please do not comfort me.

Let me wallow, let me weep.

My soul aches hysterically

pleading for repose.

But please do not quiet me.

Let me wallow, let me weep.

In the end some light may finally show

through the cracks in my carapace.

But please do not give me hope.

Let me wallow, let me weep.

*** A Note from the Author:

I wholeheartidly believe in the importance of seeking help in times of need. It is more than worthwhile, and the feeling of being reborn to a new life, to a new you, is real and attainable. 988.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Elias Way

I write stories for you to read :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Elias WayWritten by Elias Way

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.