Poets logo

Let it grow

I always knew you could do it

By Miss KPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
Let it grow
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

That's how Mama responded whenever I said

Look what I made, look how it fits, look how perfect

She'd say, watch it grow

Watch it blossom

Watch it rise

All my life, I had only known truth

Positivity and hope

All my life I had never felt a wave of negativity

And that's because of Mama

She carried me through life

On the wings of hope and dreams

She never gave up

She was a fighter and never quit

She was a force, everyone felt it

She lived vicariously through me

Always said I was her guiding light

That she would make sure

I gave life a run for its money

I was her second chance

Her hope at doing it all again

Only this time, it would be

On both our terms

She would live but I would live too

And her way of living through me

Was giving me hope

Fighting with me for my dreams

Running through the storms hand in hand

Oh she lived, her heart was full

I loved that she lived with me

That she lived through me

I wished I had had more time

Wish we could have been more

Much more than we were

But I'll take what life gave me

What Mama taught me

And I will live

Ride this wave of life

Catch all my dreams

And make her proud

Because she let me grow

She always knew I could do it

inspirationallove poems
Like

About the Creator

Miss K

Here for the experience

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.