Poets logo

Let It Fade

Addiction

By Mercedes ChavezPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
1
Slow Burn by Mercedes Chavez

It's just a little treat

Just a little pill

A couple sips here and there

Let the smoke fill your lungs

Anything to make it all stop

Stop the chaos

Stop the noise

Can't be left alone with the thoughts

The memories are unbearable

How could something that brought joy

Be the cause of so much pain

I still feel your touch on my flesh

Your voice still rings in my ears

The taste of you still lingers on the tip of my tongue

I can't fight back the tears

I try to sleep

But every time I close my eyes

All I can see is you

I take the treat

Mix it with a sip

Sometimes a pill

It's all I can do

To make the memory of you

Disappear.

heartbreaksad poetry
1

About the Creator

Mercedes Chavez

Come with me, lets go on an adventure together, see the world through my eyes, let me paint a picture with my words, I promise you will be able to feel what I felt the first time I experienced it. Love, sadness and everything in between.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This hit me so hard! Your poems are always so relatable!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.