Poets logo

Let Go

Just Enjoy The Chaos

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Let Go
Photo by Yaopey Yong on Unsplash

A wolf hiding, just beneath the surface

that monster lurking, somewhere, deep inside

The twitch, twitching, distorting your face

that quiet corner where you try to hide

But I see you

I watch you while you're sleeping

I know all the crazy things you do

all those secrets, that you think you're keeping

They're seeping out, from deep inside of you

That bear, that you've tried to hibernate

it's wide awake, and it's starving mad

The caged bull, now stampeding just outside the gate

destroying everything - you thought you ever had

The scene repeats, replaying in your nightmares

the sound of shattered glass, just before the crash

The warning sign, telling you to beware

the one that left you, with that gaping gash

Your secrets out

and at last, you'd better face it

That shadowed doubt

its light, no longer emits

That other person, that you've tried so hard to sell

transparency, has blown it all to shit

And that my friends,

is the consequence, the loss of innocence

some kind of synonym of love

slam poetry

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    You blew my mind with this one! Whoaaa! This was just so amazing!

  • Matthew Mccahey10 months ago

    Amazing poem! Reminds me of the two-faced friends I've had through my life who changed on the drop of a dime. Or family who waited till i was low enough to hit.

  • Margaret Brennan10 months ago

    my mother had a habit of gently pinching the skin between my thumb and index finger. for whatever reason, that triggered something inside me where if she asked me a question as I slept, I always gave her a truthful answer.

  • This makes me think of the Membari tradition from "Babylon 5" where when a man & woman are betrothed, she spends three nights watching him sleep, for it is while he his sleeping his true face will appear. If she likes what she sees, she stays. If she doesn't, she leaves.

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.