Poets logo

Lesson Learned

keep your mess

By Melissa WilsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Lesson Learned
Photo by Cam Ferland on Unsplash

It hurt when you left.

My heart twisted and turned.

I thought I would die from the way that it burned.

I thought you were special.

I thought you were my one.

How much more wrong could I be, you were just out for fun.

You thought you could use me.

Keep me hanging on your strings.

But life does not work that way, it's meant to teach us things.

So I know you will never see this.

And I really could not care less.

But thank you for the lessons, someone else can have your mess.

As I look to the future.

One without you around.

I realized in the mirror was where my special one would be found.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Melissa Wilson

The one constant for me has been my love of writing. It’s a release of all the emotions I don’t know how to express. Thank you for taking the time to be a part of my story. Subscribe if you can relate & tips are appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.