Poets logo

Legacy

For Greg 1960-2023

By Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual WarriorPublished about a year ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2023
27

This poem won a Top Story Award here on Vocal in April 2023

Your obituary came across my Facebook feed today

And it took me by surprise

You were my elementary and

High school tormentor and bully

The person I always think of when I think of evil and hatred

I always wondered how I would feel this day

Part of me feels such sorrow for your family, friends, and children

I know they saw a part you that was loveable, kind, and compassionate

But that is not person I experienced

The other part of me rejoices that your

toxic, remorseless evil is no longer present on this earth

As I was reading the glowing accolades to you

I was suddenly startled by a “tribute” from another classmate that rang true for me

I was not your only victim

There were other souls you abused

And who are courageous enough to hold your feet to the fire

Even in death

This brave man is willing to hold you accountable

Even if you are not here to defend yourself

Unlike this man, I did give you the opportunity to defend yourself

I allowed the door to be opened for you to seek forgiveness

And atonement

To take responsibility for the pain you caused

Ten years ago, when we were both 52

You contacted me on social media

Wanting to be my “friend”

I was shocked and repulsed,

And I ignorantly thought you might be trying to make amends

So, I accepted your “friendship” and I asked why you were contacting me

After having mentally and physically abused me for eight years as a child

I opened my heart to you

About the pain and damage, you inflicted on me

Foolishly thinking I would get closure and the opportunity

To release the pain and forgive you

But instead of taking ownership of your actions

Or apologizing

You simply shrugged it off and snottily replied

“Well, kids will be kids.”

Greg,

Normal kids do not chase and mentally assault others for years and years

Normal kids do not write nasty epithets on school walls

Normal kids do not chase and throw rocks at other kids

Normal kids do not tackle other kids and rub wet garbage in their faces thinking it is funny

You relentlessly did this to me from age 10 to 18

You would never stop or let it go

What kind of family did you grow up in

Where this behavior was condoned?

Greg, I knew then you had not changed

And I removed our "online" friendship

You are not getting off that easy

As the Bible states (it does)

You are not required to forgive anyone

Who does not show remorse for what they have done

And who has not asked for forgiveness

You can forgive yourself for holding onto the pain

But if they do not accept responsibility for the damage they caused

You owe them nothing

At 52, you should have figured that out

I truly feel for your loved ones who loved you

They clearly saw a side of you that you did not choose to share with the

People you bullied

I will always care and love you as one of God’s precious children

But you will also always be

The poster boy of vile unadulterated hatred and the first person I think of

When I witness bullying and torture

That is your legacy in my heart, Greg

And others as well

I will pray for your soul

You are in God's hands now.

(in remembrance of Greg A. Humble, 1960-2023. May God bless and forgive you.)

- Julie O'Hara 2023

Thank you for reading my poem or article. Please feel free to subscribe to see more content and if you are moved to, please consider tipping. In addition, my books can be found at https: Julie O'Hara Bookshop

sad poetry
27

About the Creator

Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual Warrior

Thank you for reading my work. Feel free to contact me with your thoughts or if you want to chat. [email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Rich Januszabout a year ago

    Congrats on the top story. Very well written.

  • Lynn Anderson about a year ago

    I will always care and love you as one of God’s precious children." That line got me. I hope writing this was cathartic for.

  • Abhishek about a year ago

    Well written with a balance of fire and water

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    I was the only black kid at my elementary school for many years, so you can imagine how much fun that was. Seeing bullies trying to contact me now does not even fill me with anger. It just depresses me. And some wounds do not heal. Thank you for this. Great Top Story entry!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Well written. For far too long bullies have been given a pass. i really don't believe that many of them grow out of that behavior unless they are forced to do so. Thank you for sharing your story. Glad to see it as a top story as so many of us can relate ❤️

  • Ahamed Thousifabout a year ago

    Wow, amazing story!!!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your top story! Wow, I’m sorry that he never even showed a bit of remorse despite being given the opportunity.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Outstanding!!! Congratulations on T S too!!!😊💖💕

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the top story. Very well written.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉😉

  • ❤️📝

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Bullies are broken people, but that is certainly not an excuse for their behavior. I’m sorry for what you went through and I’m sad he never learned. I’m glad bullying is less tolerated these days or at least there is more awareness. No kid should have to put up with that!

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    It's always important to express one's pain in words. Bullying is such a traumatic experience for the victim! Some people remain unhappy their entire lives. It doesn't matter how hard we try to show them the way, they are unable to change. And maybe they don't want to, after all. Powerful poem, Julie!

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Congratulations on the Top Story- this was such a powerful moment/emotional response caught up in the poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.