Poets logo

Learning as I Go

Trying to overcome the darkness

By Kris GriffithPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Learning as I Go
Photo by Ali Rizvi on Unsplash

I have no idea

What I am doing here

All I know is that I am not going back

To how it used to be

~

The old life that pained me

The dreams that wouldn’t let me sleep

The emptiness that couldn’t be filled

I will not go back!

~

The darkness enveloped me

Cocooned me and transformed me into… this

I am a shadow of my former self, no longer naïve

I echo now in my hollowness!

~

I almost drown in the nothingness

Kicking and screaming until I had nothing left

I had no escape, and no hope for rescue

I didn’t even trust myself to help

~

Once you have known the numbness

It finds you again at will

Your escape is temporary and won’t last long

The mind will imprison you in your own doubt and fear

~

I will not go back to that

My voice has value, no more empty screams

I will share my light with all

And hope it wont turn back off

sad poetry

About the Creator

Kris Griffith

I have been away from creative writing for many years. I am trying to rediscover who I am through my writings. Come join in the journey!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kris GriffithWritten by Kris Griffith

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.