Poets logo

Leap and Burn

a poem of falling in love

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished about a month ago 3 min read
Top Story - March 2024
21
Leap and Burn
Photo by michal dziekonski on Unsplash

I came five minutes early today.

What made me do that?

Maybe I'm hoping, like me, you can't stay away.

***

Red and white, a most beautiful bouquet.

Each step feels like I'm approaching the collision of a new beginning and the past.

I don't care if it'll all play like a rom-com cliche.

***

My nailbeds are ruined by the time you're approaching; I say it's a first.

You deserve some kind of plaque.

No man has driven me to this point where I wish my words were rehearsed.

***

My heart and the dam I've constructed threatens to burst,

Letting loose every word and emotion I've held back.

This feels like I have been blessed and cursed.

***

Are those flowers in your hand, sweat on your brow?

You can't be as nervous as I, that would mean you feel the same,

Or am I hallucinating and misinterpreting things now?

***

Your beauty twinkles in a way the stars must allow

Because you put every one of them to shame.

Why did I deny this feeling so long and how?

***

Somehow we have become tied

To this bench, to each other,

As we've sat and talked, side by side.

***

The speech I had disappears, and I couldn't get it back if I tried.

But now I have this chance, and there won't be another,

To kiss you like my breath's gone, and you're the only one who can provide.

***

I can feel my face warm as you approach me,

Lighting up the already brightest day with a perfect smile

My eyes fall to my shoes hoping you won't see

***

Blush covers your face and you start to bounce your knee

It's a marvel to see you so unnerved because it's not your style

I hope you will soon learn these feelings are a guarantee

***

You lift up my chin and it sets in me a spark

I've felt it a thousand times before, but now I understand

You are my light when the night seems too dark

***

"I don't want to hold back anymore," I remark,

As I reach for your hand

On this familiar bench in Central Park.

***

"You've taken over my mind unlike anyone I've met."

A hand on my cheek like you're wiping away invisible tears.

"Our talks, your laughter, I want all I can get."

***

"You sweet fallen angel," now your cheeks are truly wet,

"I am pushing past all my understandable and possibly silly fears

To ask you to leap into something new without a safety net."

***

"Leap with me, and lets allow this feeling to burn our defenses."

In my mind, I am on the edge looking out into the unknown,

And I leap off the white picket fence.

***

Into my arms, falling so completely into these feelings so intense

Our lips touch, and we burn together until we're nothing but ash and bone

Slowly becoming reborn, phoenixes in every sense

***

Word Count: 500 words

I have been hit with the writer's block bug recently, so it has been difficult to release new material on a more regular basis. But sometimes, it just takes a couple lines to spark something.

"We have a spark," you remark/As you reach for my hand/On a bench in Central Park.

This stanza was later replaced with the following:

"I don't want to hold back anymore," I remark/As I reach for your hand/on this familiar bench in Central Park.

So, I've come up with an idea, or more, the inkling of an idea. A love story taking place in Central Park (for the most part) written only in poems. (Maybe In Central Park: A Poetic Love Story). It came to me as I was writing this poem; it felt like there was so much story I was missing out on.

I feel like this would combine my favorite writing forms, poetry and short story, into something somewhat unique. I'm pretty excited about it and am welcome to any ideas. Maybe, to start of with, the name of the two main characters (one female, one male).

Stream of Consciousnessperformance poetrylove poemsFirst Draft
21

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibi30 days ago

    Congratulations for your story I think there is also joy in wishes or imaginary words

  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    this was lovely! so cute

  • Abdul Qayyumabout a month ago

    This was really well done The imagery is quite vivid https://vocal.media/fiction/the-enchanted-forest-s-echoes

  • The Best Trendabout a month ago

    Very nice.

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Congrats on TS! Nice job.

  • Margaret Brennanabout a month ago

    first of all, congratulations on TS. this is fantastic; all emotions put to words. it's truly wonderful.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    Congratulations on the top story. Such a fantastic and feel good story

  • ROCK about a month ago

    Newly subscribed; congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Anna about a month ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a month ago

    This was so enthralling, beautiful and just heartwarming ❤️🥰😍😘💘

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Nicely done and so delightful to read something so uplifting.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.