Poets logo

Late Lunch Lark!

Senryu Plus

By Angie the Archivist 📚🪶Published 3 months ago 1 min read
12
Late Lunch Lark!
Photo by Mishaal Zahed مشعل زاهد on Unsplash

Late lunch, bread toasting

Black smoke spiralling upwards…

Fire Drill averted!

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How the ‘Late Lunch Lark’ really went down...

At last, lunch, only two and a half hours past noon!

Make haste, school will be out soon!

Is that smoke I smell?

Oh hell!

Quickly, swiftly, frantically I dash to the ceiling fans...

I switch them... on top notch!

Desperately I grab the keys to liberate the windows…

Roll up those blinds!

Fling open those louvres… one, two, three, four sets of them…

Phew! Done!

I wait several heart beats, with bated breath!

Silence is golden, except for those fans hectically whirring like hummingbirds!

Was I a hero?

Doubtful…

But I did spare our nine hundred strong, school community, the annoying disruption of an impromptu Fire Drill!

I guess ‘Most Responsible Staff member’ won’t be headed my way this week!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

SenryuhumorFor Funfact or fictionFunny
12

About the Creator

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Addicted to reading… especially fiction and recently poetry.

Personality of a Labrador.

Attention span of a gnat! 🙃

A Parade Of Shoes: Top Story March 2024

"Look Out... Sauerkraut!": Top Story December 2023

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Bonnie Bowerman2 months ago

    Very funny! Loved it!

  • Most Responsible Staff Member is for losers. Stay cool Angie! Hehehehehehe

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    I like the senryu and the plus! Well done!

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    I've done that with microwave popcorn...not funny when it's happening, but loved your poem which felt more like a story because you did it so well!!

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Oh those smoke detectors and alarms when kitchen makings go awry - great job, I was watching as the window louvers were being opened.

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Late Lunch Lark. I love how that rolls off my tongue. I laughed at the final line of this delightful senryu, but not as much as I did reading the full blown drama of the burnt toast! Great work!

  • Poppy 3 months ago

    Phew… sounds like a similar experience I had recently with a microwave catching fire😅 I now have a fear of using microwaves😭 hope you don’t experience the same with toasters!

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    So funny, I could feel the urgency. Well done.

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    Haha, this was funny and clever!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I like the long version - the stakes were high!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.