Poets logo

Last Writes.

It Helps To Write It Down, Even If You’ll Never Read It.

By LPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I was terrified but I wrote it down anyway

My lips never moved but I had much to say

So my fears I tried to allay

I spent the night with pen in repose

By firelight I wrote atrocious prose

But when morning came I found the words an abomination

The harsh early light demanded retraction

I tried to read them but my eyes mechanically shut

On this word feast I would not glut

Now I understood their rejection and demands for words that smiled

I was a dark, macabre creature; they were not beguiled

Still I loved myself, my words, like an owl loves the night sky

He embraces the darkness and within it he flies

Within it he spills his words and they are dotted with stars

And someone listens even if it's only Mars

So I too

SAY!

SING!

I write the sad words down

But I never read them.

how to
Like

About the Creator

L

“By hell there is nothing you can do that you want and by heaven you are going to do it anyway”

Anne Spencer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.