Poets logo

Last words

Epistolary challenge

By Falcon Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read

Dear Grandma,

I'm sorry you couldn't see your memorial, I know you would have loved it.

This sad day made lighter, with stories of your cheeky whimsy helped us rise above it.

Getting though my speech was hard, I tried my best to keep the tears away,

I never got to say how grateful I was for you or let you know there was no burden for you to stay.

I'm gladdest of all you passed surrounded by those closest to you, those that you love most,

I pray you lend your children strength, just don't haunt them as a ghost!

Thoughts of things written between your eulogy,

Perhaps you'd appreciate my thoughts in poem for your absence felt in me.

"In times of grief, love unites all touched by loss. Bolstering ourselves and others with strong, empathetic shoulders and patience.

We move together, in our own small ways towards reconcilliation. Each sharing a glimpse of who the person we loved was.

Unique perspectives shine through unseen lenses of experience to others, each snapshot added to the wall of memory.

It is in these dark times of loss, that love can spell forgiveness, understanding and extend an olive branch of acceptance.

To whom their memories shine brighter, they may feel the thorns of fondness sting, and the pain of their absence bleeds with beauty.

Sharing your lives with these kindred spirits yields healing beyond what the soul alone is capable.

The depth of yearning is met with kind humour and joyful reminders that, we are alive, and grateful for each other.

Unity provides an oasis of love, yeilding opportunities to be useful, and resourceful, to help others complete catharsis.

Thank you to all I love, who have helped me on this journey. I hope to be your rock that waves of grief may break upon in the storm of loss."

I hope it's not too sappy or too much of a downer?

Perhaps insert a whoopee cushion fart sound here?

Grandma, you I love you, all the way to the stars and back,

I hope we meet again in the future when my life fades to black.

All my love,

Your (most handsome) grandson,

Falcon

XoXo (kisses and mad raspberries!)

sad poetry

About the Creator

Falcon

Family is everything to me, I do this in the hope I can one day to support them. You'll find short stories and tantalizing prologues. Sickly dark humour and honest realism. A wannabe writer testing the waters.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Falcon Written by Falcon

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.