Poets logo

Last Words?

and a Waits piano playing

By Anthony DahmPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

The kid and I had a conversation about death and last words.

I was trying to keep the sound of a Tom Waits piano out of my head but damn that stuff is good.

We laughed about foolish finishes and secretly envied the men we thought to be wise.

I raced around the idea of a deathbed or a firing squad. (Preferring the latter)

What would my last words be?

Nevermind; Beethoven already beat me to it.

The kid and I were thinking about death and last words.

I was trying to keep from slurring and Tommy wouldn’t shut up. (Not that I would ever ask him to)

The kid stopped talking and I got distracted with my internal monologue. (right on the nose of a narcissist’s pocket-watch)

“Death isn’t as exciting as what leads up to it.”

Fuck my last words. What am I saying now?

I would tell you but I slurred them and forgot.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.