Poets logo

Land of No Man

A poem

By Warwick Holding Published 4 years ago 1 min read
2

I have reached a milestone

In my journey to mid-century

Maybe because I’ve grown

And my life is no longer empty

It’s not totally complete

There is something still missing

The symphony is bittersweet

And I’m always left wishing

I feel I am very nearly there

To reaching my goal

In wanting someone to share

And become part of my soul

I believe in wellbeing

Treating others with respect

That’s mostly what I’m seeing

It’s the desired effect

There’s a void within me

That I now know, needs filling

It’s challengingly not easy

When she is a top billing

The best path to follow

Is also very confusing

I just end up hollow

And the paths end up fusing

Do I head for the trees

Or stay on the trail

Heart and head, can’t agree

Common sense seems to fail

Stuck in the land of no man

With an ache from within

Hoping for sight of a plan

Or should I give in

I’m hurt either way

Of that I’m not scared

My truth has been paid

My heart has been bared

The air full of ambiguity

The breeze is unsure

Will this lightning take my dignity

Or bring sunshine to my door

I wait in my minds shelter

For this scene to unfold

Exit stage, left or right?

The choice still untold

My lines are well learnt

But I’m still unsure of the plot

Again, will I get burnt

And the lights miss my spot

With social distance I can cope

It’s the fear of the unknown

All I have is just hope

But I feel so alone

Maybe the decision is not mine

And out of my hands

It’s clarity I long to find

At least I’ll know where I stand

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Warwick Holding

I’ve always been a storyteller, I’d love to say I was a writer, but I can’t. If people were even reading this on the toilet. I’d be humbled.

I write short, but true stuff, I try to mix honesty with humour, because it’s the only way I know

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.