Poets logo

Lamentations of a Lady

10/22/2018

By Haley VandykePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

There was a little lady bug,

As harmless as can be.

She wanted somebug to love her,

But couldn’t find any you see.

She left the safety of her home

to look for someplace new.

She went as far as her lady legs could go

And then she met a bee.

“Hello dear sir” the lady bug announced

“I’m looking for a love bug, is it you?

Could it be?”

The bee instead turned and yelled

“I already have a queen!”

“I’m sorry!” She said, “I did not know!”

She tried to turn and flee.

But she could not out run the angered sir

And screamed out “someone help me!”

She thought her time was up,

And then the bee was dead.

She opens her eyes surprised to find

A spider had taken his head.

“My dear little lady,” the spider said,

As he began to spin his silken thread.

“You need a lover so I’ve heard.

I can fill that stead.”

The ladybug was wary, but the spider was so sweet

She couldn’t help believing him

As he swept her off her feet.

He led her to a strange new place

And when she grew afraid,

he said “Fear not, I will not harm you.

You are my treasured guest.”

She wanted to run but the spell was cast

And the spiders thread was spun.

He tucked her in and bid her goodnight,

And the lady never woke up.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.