Poets logo

Lake Michigan

True love in summer

By Adrienne LoshPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

The icy, grey memory of cold soon will fade

As colors of blue and green dance in the sun

Waves kiss my toes and beg me to wade

A full year I have waited, longing to be one.

Her body mercurial, she is vicious, untamed

Her calm facade cracks as winds whip past

Devoted to her, forever hopeful I remain

Truth lies in nature and love yet neither last.

Though she is fickle, I return every year

Our love is greater than the sun’s absence

There is no fairer mirror for life or my fear

I surrender myself and drink up her essence.

What lies beneath, the rocks and fish

Hum along to the silence of my fateful wish.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.