Poets logo

Lady in Red

Lost & Found: Vol 1 - 1 I lost you once, you found your way back to me. I won’t make that mistake again. When I found you, I found me.

By Alicia LedellPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Lady in Red
Photo by Miguel Gonzalez on Unsplash

1. Lady in Red

To the Lady in Red,

There's no time like today, knowing it may rain tomorrow

My heart fills with sorrow knowing this may be goodbye

Holding you near with your fragile fears embracing the wonderful growth that is you

My heart is weak, but still I speak

My soul is old, but growing cold

My lips are soft, but my touch is longing

When will I see you again?

Your dress is tight with eyes that bite and gnaw with fangs until I'm stripped of armor

Dishonor graced her, and greeted me with temptation vulnerability whispered my name

Knowing that nothing will ever be the same

My dearest Lady in Red

Why do you take my love in vain?

Why must you put me through all this pain?

You vanished, disappeared like dried up rain

Knowing you left no remains

I stopped searching for you,

Crimes went unanswered

Innocence lost, no clues

You're like a fire guiding the dead but still I have love for you,

My precious Lady in Red

Blood is thicker than water

That must be true as it trickles down your malevolent knife

Hidden out of view

I was a fool for trusting you

Those deceiving eyes, and bright red lips that lie

A stabbing pain shot through my back

Right in the heart you pierce me

A long list of endless regrets

As your lips fixed to kiss me

You leaned over slowly to whisper in my ear,

"We left way too much unsaid. Our love could never be. One way or another you'd end up dead. To prevent the worse, I'll end it my way instead. Please do not hate me, for this is your fate."

She jabbed the knife deeper, pulling me closer there I bled.

"I will never leave him." Were the last words she said.

Lifeless, an empty shell of what I used to be

I felt stupid, duped, and misled

I cared so much about her and she left me for dead

If only I could have seen beyond the red.

love poems

About the Creator

Alicia Ledell

♡ʙᴇ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴏᴡɴ ᴋɪɴᴅ ᴏғ ʙᴇᴀᴜᴛɪғᴜʟ!♡

ᴄᴏᴍᴇ ʟɪᴠᴇ ɪɴ ᴍʏ ᴡᴏʀʟᴅ...

ʜɪ ᴇᴠᴇʀʏᴏɴᴇ! мy naмe ιѕ alιcιa ledell.

ɪ ᴀᴍ ᴀ ʏᴏᴜɴɢ ᴡᴏᴍᴀɴ ᴡʜᴏ ᴇɴᴊᴏʏs ᴛʜᴇ ᴇxᴄɪᴛᴇᴍᴇɴᴛ ᴀɴᴅ ᴄʀᴇᴀᴛɪᴠɪᴛʏ ᴏғ ᴡʀɪᴛɪɴɢ.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alicia LedellWritten by Alicia Ledell

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.