Poets logo

Lady Bee

stings

By Hunter BlakelyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

It hurts, and it stings.

The bite of a bee.

Watching the stinger wiggling, pumping poisons into me.

Not its fault, but mine - for stepping on the unseen.

Holding no anger for the pain I'm feeling.

Only wishing the destruction of an innocent could have been avoided.

I'm sorry missus bee.

You were such a lovely lady, only looking for pollen to feed you and your colony.

My steps will ever be guided by memory of my stepping misfortunately.

Next time, there won't be a dead bee, nor a stinger inside me wriggling.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Hunter Blakely

Born a peasant, grown a prince.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.