Poets logo

Ladies walk

A personal story involving a local walk, a trip into psychosis and recovery

By Daniel HooksPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Ladies walk bridge

Walking through greenery

either side

of a path.

Panoramic vision of Andover town

It's hard to grasp,

that I walked here as a child in a school class

with so many questions,

the unusual questions children often ask.

Now a man knitted together with reason

and a somewhat logical mind

but always we are out of step with time.

I came through here also on that fateful day when I'd lost my mind

Overcome with sadness that I couldn't leave behind

I nearly did it, I nearly jumped

Off the bridge which stands in the middle

another ghost ,another suicide

another tragedy ,another ended waking dream.

An ending all too soon...

but I resolved to face my problems

My friend Chris thought I was going to jump

But even though the lump in my throat was massive.

My soul rode the storm inside my head

because to be alive is a wonder

everyday something to learn

and although hot tears may make eyes sore.

I will never take anything for granted

life is what you make it

and it will never be a chore.

By Daniel Hooks AKA Alienpoet

wwwalienpoet.com

artsocial commentaryinspirational

About the Creator

Daniel Hooks

A poet, activist and story teller who currently battles with a severe mental health problem.

Facebook Alienpoet

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    A good message & Heartfelt writing Daniel. 👏👏

Daniel HooksWritten by Daniel Hooks

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.