Poets logo

Haunted man once a strange child blues

A poem about growing up as a strange child and becoming a haunted man

By Daniel HooksPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
2
I like dark things

I used to talk to god in the dark wilds of my grans cupboard under the stairs

I used to walk around the playground looking for friends just getting blank glares

I used to think god was a man but it’s probably a goddess I was looking for

I used to think I had the key to heavens door,

I broke into her house looking to talk some more

I used to want to be the last messenger of god but the girl with many faces needs someone else

I have walked through the white corridors of mental asylums

I have been a child trying to find her

She left me clues

this is the haunted man once a strange child blues.

By Daniel Hooks AKA Alienpoet

www.alienpoet.com

social commentarysad poetry
2

About the Creator

Daniel Hooks

A poet, activist and story teller who currently battles with a severe mental health problem.

Facebook Alienpoet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Very emotive and I like the repetition of the title in the last line - it’s effective. Great work!

  • This was so profound and poignant. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.