Poets logo

Ladies First

A Queen Latifah Thought Process

By Jerica FloydPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ladies First
Photo by Osman Yunus Bekcan on Unsplash

Action

Seeing, knowing, believing, reaching

hoping, loving, being

Being

This ing

that forces movement

That suggest you do instead of theorize

This 'ing' that creates me

Coruscant

I glow so bright

I think the Son is my father

Perhaps I'm gasconading

But only because

I wrote poems in the trails of my mothers amniotic fluid

to be birthed through the gene-ous of those words

That formed me

Stretched my legs and let out a cry

That broke into a million pieces

which pushed through the universe

sprouting worlds of consciousness and truth

But truthfully, I lye on the daily

straightening twisted mentalities that rock

A.Davis hair and reality show brain

Where naturals seek the callipygian ideal

And I keep wondering where all the Queens went

ladies being first and all...

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.