Poets logo

Lacey

A Little Nightmare Poem

By Sara WilsonPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
4

From the first day they met

Lacey was head over heels

He made her heart flutter

He gave her full body chills

He complimented her beauty

Her music, her art

Poor Lacey fell so quick

and gave him her heart

It started out slowly

the comments, the names

He would say he was joking

But Lacey felt so ashamed

Why you wearing that dress?

Are you looking for attention?

He would call her names

too evil to mention

Stop posting those selfies!

Get off of your phone!

They don't love you like I do,

You will just die alone!

Oh, you think you look good?

Too good to hold my hand?

Why are you crying now?

I just don't understand.

Sure, I'm the bad guy

Yeah, I'm always mad

Tell the world I mistreat you

Go on, make me look bad

Don't think I don't see you

Staring hard at that guy

You think you're so slick

with your wandering eye

Lacey couldn't fight back

she felt broken inside

She swore up and down

she had nothing to hide

Lacey lost all her confidence

she kept her head down

She felt like a burden

when he was around

She was just too tired

to speak up anymore

Convincing him of her love

Just felt like a chore

So she would keep quiet

Be seen and not heard

She would stay on her leash

And never speak another word

She gave it all up

Her music, her art

She gave it all up

When she gave him her heart

Lacey is kind of near and dear to my heart. She was based off of a drawing I made from my own personal experiences. I don't have a whole lot to say on the subject other than, don't ever allow anyone to make you feel like this because there isn't a single person who walks this Earth worth feeling this way. -Sara

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Sara Wilson

Lover of the strange and unusual. I write mostly horror or true crime. I occasionally publish other things, but try not to write only for the sake of having content. Feedback is always welcome and appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    I love Lacey! And I don't like dolls lol. I love the poem, and felt ever bit of it and think you're really quite brave and strong to put something out there like this that's really very personal! The doll design as well is amazing...says so much with just the smallest of details! Well done, Sara and you're so very right (Of course you are) with what you said!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    I love how you styled Lacey. I hope that she finds her voice again. Brilliant work Sara!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.