Poets logo

Koi Fish

This poem is about the Chinese​ story about the koi fish swimming up the waterfall. I use it as a parallel to my life and obstacles I have had to overcome, and my drive to not give up no matter how hard life gets.

By Amanda ZylstraPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Koi fish swim upstream against the current.

They battle the strong flowing water and never give up.

My life, much like the Koi fish is filled with obstacles to overcome.

I am the fish swimming up the waterfall.

I am the one whose own life keeps trying to drown her.

The one whose obstacles would make a weak person turn in their keys.

And give up on this life.

I learned to breathe underwater.

I grew my own gills.

It took time and patience.

No lesson is ever learned in one day's time.

I learned to never give up the fight and keep my eye on the prize.

I gain strength as I defeat enemies.

I gain wisdom as I overcome internal conflicts.

I learn to understand my own mind.

I learn to love myself.

I am no longer a prisoner.

I never forget where I am going and where I have been.

I am guided by past conflicts.

I am just wise enough to stop looking back and keep my eye on the future.

I keep my eye on my goals and what I need to accomplish in this lifetime.

Will I ever meet my maker and become a dragon?

Will the legend be fulfilled?

Only time will tell.

I would like to think that someday obstacles will stop appearing in my path.

Someday this constant war of humanity will be over.

That all these roadblocks are temporary.

A singular Koi fish swims up my arm and into my heart.

I use art as a parallel for my life.

I learn to embrace these life obstacles.

This mark on my skin is a symbol of strength and never giving up no matter how strong the current is.

Never stop swimming.

Never let the current see your weakness.

I may get pushed back a few feet at any given moment, but I will never stop swimming.

I will never give up my fight.

The day I stop swimming is the day that I die.

I will fight death himself and try to barter with the grim reaper.

What can I exchange for more days on earth?

Has the prophecy been fulfilled?

If the only thing I leave behind is my poetry, perhaps that was my life purpose all along.

I will never stop writing and I will never stop learning.

I am the koi fish and this waterfall is my life.

*This poem is featured in my upcoming poetry collection, Peeling Sanity

Check out my Author Page on Facebook!

Check out my Poetry!

Check out my Music Articles!

Check out my Beauty Articles!

Check out my Makeup Articles!

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Zylstra

Cat Lover, Poetry Writer, Tea Drinker, Skincare and Beauty Product Obsessed. Check out my poetry collection "Passing Skeletons" available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.