Poets logo

Knowing My Enemy

A Conversation of Then & Now

By A_Skeleton_SpeaksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Knowing My Enemy
Photo by Bekah Russom on Unsplash

"Hey Little Me. It's great to see you again!"

"Hey Big Me! How have things been?"

"You should have a seat; there's much to discuss."

"Uh-oh, this sounds pretty serious."

"It isn't rosy; I won't sugarcoat it for you."

"Oh no! What did I do?"

"It's not you; it's what I did.

It's not your fault. You're just a kid.

You had to grow up way too soon.

Stunted because you had no room

I did a lot you said you never would.

Convinced myself being bad made me feel good

I made the impossible a reality.

Turned over every stone placed in front of me

Most I should have left untouched, left alone

The path they led me on took me far from home.

I tried to fit us into a society that only had one mold.

But I didn't realize the price of admission would be your soul

I couldn't handle our pain, so I tried to heal us in ways that only hurt us more.

Walked over all the pieces of us I shredded on the floor

Treaded until I could hardly recognize your face

Allowed others to steal our peace and fill your space

I betrayed us and found myself lost.

Spiraled further, not understanding the costs

Now I sit with only recollections

Fighting hard to find reconnections

With myself, with you and the others

Because there's still so much with us all I have to discover

I should have been kinder to you, should have been your best friend.

I looked for you in those outside instead of looking within.

I let us collect dust on the highest shelf.

I looked for love from everyone else that I should have given you myself."

inspirational
1

About the Creator

A_Skeleton_Speaks

Formerly: Introducing Poetry

Writing allows me to release

All that holds me

Hope you enjoy the journey with me on a path to healing and growth!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.