Poets logo

Kintsugi

An imperfect sedoka

By Loryne AndaweyPublished about a year ago β€’ Updated about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
20
Kintsugi
Photo by Motoki Tonn on Unsplash

Consider this cup.

It lies shattered on the floor.

What use is there for it now?

Consider this cup

Each piece sheltered in my hands,

Ready to be brushed with gold.

*

*

A sedoka is a style of Japanese poetry consisting of two stanzas with three lines each and a syllable count of 5-7-7 or 5-7-5. It is called a sedoka (a poem where the head is repeated) because the first line is repeated. The nature of this style of poetry is believed to be a recitation of a question and answer between two lovers. Traditionally, the question/commenting stanza captures a scene in nature while the answer/responding stanza enlightens the scene and makes the sentiment whole. More information about sedokas can be found here.

*

*

Thank you for lingering.

love poemsinspirationalart
20

About the Creator

Loryne Andawey

Health, Happiness & Abundance.

Currently enjoying the company of Francis, Mike, C.H., Gammastack, Michelle, Cosimo, Kristen, Bronson, Bella, Talia, Sean, Babs, Kelli, Rick, Dharrsheena, Heather, Gina and many, many more!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Masterfully done. The parallelism of "shattered" and "sheltered" is sublime. And I will echo Gina by saying how much I love the answer being to brush the pieces in gold. Of course, you're describing a real pottery technique... yet also so much more; a redemption story in such a tiny poem.. πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ» I think you have gotten to the heart of this poetic form. I think the sedoka might be a new favorite.

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Thank you for the education on this form and a beautiful example, Loryne!

  • Margaret Brennan8 months ago

    This reminds me of how I felt about my life during my divorce. My sons pulled me through. With their help, I healed and now am remarried to a much better person. Yes, there is always hope for a new beginning.

  • Loryne, I included your poem here on this weeks article ❀️✨☺️ https://vocal.media/writers/lust-for-words-3

  • A beautiful reminder of how life is appreciated or depreciated by our perception, thank you πŸ™β€οΈβœ¨

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh10 months ago

    Lovely!! I can't wait to try this form!

  • PK Colleranabout a year ago

    Very nice. I find the sedoka form and history fascinating. Thank you for the explanation.

  • Thank you for the explanation of the form and your words are wonderful

  • Oooo, this is fascinating! I've never heard of a Sedoka before. You executed it brilliantly!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is absolutely beautiful the way you did this; I loved how the β€œanswer” ended up being to brush the broken pieces with gold 😊 I very much enjoyed learning about sedokas also!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Thought provoking great sedoka

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is beautiful, and I learned a new style. Thank you.

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    This is wonderful! I love the message.

  • This is beautiful. I luv'd learning about Sedoku. I am a free form poet but definitely am going to try this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.