Poets logo

King of the Silent Plains

A glimpse of the Champion of Men

By Syed Arabi KhaliquePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
2
"Woe betide his foes, who dare stand against the King of the Silent plains."

Imprisoned under the Sea of the lone desert,

With no respite in sight visible.

I cried to the black slimy walls surrounding me,

Hoping for a higher power to set my life free.

And then came the rumbling thunders and the ferocious lightning,

The likes of which no mortal man had ever seen.

Out of the night clouds emerged a cloaked warrior of unknown origin,

Bolts of lightning out of his hands, his eyes glinted of dangers unforeseen.

In absolute fear and happiness I exclaimed,

"Fly! Fly! Fly away! Here comes the King of the Silent plains,

To take me away from this misery."

On a windowless guardhouse lay my sweet freedom,

Prisoner I was of a cruel and other-worldly kingdom.

Time moved for the Sea of the lone desert, but for me it lay still,

As abominations of evil creation came down from the cursed White Hill.

The fear of death goes away when you forget how it felt under the open sky,

So I waited, either for life to be returned or for death to release.

But seeing the Champion of men, with lightning in his hand and up high,

I exclaimed in absolute fear and happiness,

"Fly! Fly! Fly away! Here comes the King of the Silent plains,

To take me away from this misery."

Behind the shadow of the sun lies an eerie Behemoth,

Whose existence is yet unknown.

It has forever haunted Mankind's dreams, and also its future.

Cruel and villainous it was, as it sat on the unholy Shrine of doom,

And imprisoned I was under the desert fortress of that very Behemoth,

But even the cursed have their days of fortune, as mine was wrought

By the Champion of men, who broke down the doors to my abyss.

As my freedom came to me, I was aware of an entity amidst the clouds.

It smiled at me, and full of malice that smile was,

But the Protector of mine raised his hand and cried

"Fly! Fly! Fly away! Here comes the King of the Silent plains,

To take him away from this misery. "

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Syed Arabi Khalique

I am a guy from Jersey who is trying to put down in words what nightmares afflict him, hoping that will somewhat sweeten the deadly ordeal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.