Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Killers of the silver screen

Betty and Wayne, a Halloween tale

By Valentine VampirePublished 8 months ago 3 min read

What indicates the signs of fall?

Is it the embers that die out of summer's flame?

Speculated trouble in the air on the back of the change in the wind?

Is it the decaying that makes my veins juiced with vigor?

What is it?

I've waited my whole life for this night.

I miss you during the times when it’s hot and I began to see what’s left of you rot.

The most devilish design

Cursed in one season

But you give so many a reason

A flicker ignited from within

Suddenly I’m invited.

Today is our day

365 days

I’ve been stuck in this craze

Pacing back and forth in my mind of who I will dress up as this year

I’ve decided this year is Betty Paige

Just wait till you see what I have in store for tonight.

It will drive you out of your mind.

I will be the performer and the world my stage

you, my candy apple will be my applause.

You know I crave you

Oh sweet Jack of mine

I’ll tell you the truth

Do you have a moment to spare?

I’ve waited my whole life for you and I

I see those eyes shooting daggers into my soul

Do you like what I’ve worn? Do you like what you see?

Let me hit you like a morning star

Take a puff and don't worry about the smell

I'll choke on the smoke of your cigar

Blood and love. Pecans and Fresh pine oh love of mine

A memory in the form of a scent that takes me back to when we first met.

Pondering under the wilting tree where the leaves fell into your beautiful visage

Sinking deeper into the depths of the rummaged leaves of the ones before me.

A jackled face others would turn and run away

But for someone as sick as me

It was love at first glance.

So naturally,

We fell

Desperately

Selfishly

I love you

O I adore you

You and me

Who will fall victim

to our Tricks and our treats

Dusk is soon on the horizon

And ready or not

Here we come.

Shall we pick that little girl in the Red Riding Hood dress?

Perhaps the boy who desperately wanted to go home?

Oo let’s go! I know the address!

I got a bottle of Jack in the back

Kissed with my lip print

on my body. Lightened up like a lantern.

I got them both in the backseat

Tied up and screaming for their mothers

We laughed and mocked

With the knife to their throat

They couldn't yell loud enough to stop

“Old Hollywood baby,

That's what you are

Cinema baby. Fine Gold trapped in black and white”

The child's Guts dangle delicately down my arms like Joan Crawford.

The Blood drips from my lips and I feel like I'm one with the stars.

Higher than this realm

But you are my A-list designer drug

And I’m an addict

We play through brains like the children looking through Halloween candy

Save the sours

You I want to devour

Kiss your plastic face through the tortured veins that block me from that perfect mouth

“Off with the heads!” You said!

“I'm ready to carve this year's prized pumpkin!”

Laugh at our work like a deranged jester

For our next costume, I’ll be John Wayne from that old western

Kiss me, sweet Jack!

For we only have tonight!

Until the morning when we must part till next year

Just know

I’m so happy I could die

I see the flashing lights of red and blue

I know they are coming

Coming for you

I traded my body for that cinnamon revolver

Till death do us part

Wouldn't turn ya in for a million dollars

Into the den, they come.

To see what the girl from Mel’s diner loves to do for fun.

I dance like Marilyn and sing like the Shirelles

“ Tonight, you're mine completely

You give your love so sweetly

Tonight, the light of love is in your eyes

But will you love me tomorrow?”

BANG

BANG

I spit on them my blood.

They hit me, but I don’t care.

They hit me, but I can’t feel

They hit me, but I sing

BANG

BANG

“Oh Jack

Oh jack o lantern

So tell me now, and I won't ask again

Will you still love me tomorrow?

Will you still love me tomorrow?”

Will you still love me?

Until dawn my morning star,

Like the seasons and you my dear

My flesh starts to rot.

Like you, lover

Forever entwined

On this beautiful, most glorious day

Killers on a silver screen

Our special holiday

Some may call

Halloween

vintageperformance poetrylove poems

About the Creator

Valentine Vampire

A collection of poetry and short stories :3

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Valentine VampireWritten by Valentine Vampire

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.