Poets logo

Keeping Company

and other ways to hide

By Sandra MatosPublished 13 days ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
34
Keeping Company
Photo by Joshua Newton on Unsplash

I keep people company

on train rides and bus rides or

while they drive their cars to

promotions or breakups

to pick up some coffee

through death and denial

or heavy betrayal

while they speak of

love. Love, LOVE!

for mothers

for children

for faces looking back at them from the mirror

or not

for dreams

for a dream that comes true

or does not

Or anger

they're angry

at bosses or friends or

themselves

for caring enough

to be angry

I try to leave them

with less bitter

on their tongues

less boiling in their bellies

because they cure my soul

that does not know how to move

past this point

or how to recognize the words my voice is

using

I am not sure of anything

except

for where they are going

who they love or hate or want

or miss

While I sit by my window

keeping them company

on their trains

or their buses

or in their cars

On their way to places,

I may never go.

Free Verse
34

About the Creator

Sandra Matos

I write so that people will remember me. I make art for the same reason. I had a mother that I never knew. Who she was, how she smelled, or what she valued. I don't want anyone to wonder who I was.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. SchΓ€fer3 days ago

    Excellent choice for TS πŸ‘

  • Congratulations on the top story, it's well deserved!

  • Anna 8 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸ₯³

  • Cyrus12 days ago

    Good job!

  • Gabriel Huizenga13 days ago

    Really moving and profound. The ways we keep others company, and hide ourselves...a really poignant thing to reflect on, and done so beautifully!

  • Really solid, really evocative work! Keep it up, congrats on the Top Story!

  • Wow it is super impressive!

  • Paul Stewart13 days ago

    Not surprised to see this here, Sandra! Congrats on a stunning Top Story!

  • Ingot so many thoughts from this poem! Congrats in top story! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

  • Asad Message13 days ago

    Any tip you want to share with newbie?

  • Asad Message13 days ago

    Really Congrats on top story!

  • Excellent piece. I love the mystique about this!!! Congratulations on your Top Story!!!

  • Kodah13 days ago

    This was deeep. Love it!! Congrats on top story! πŸ’Œ

  • Andrea Corwin 13 days ago

    Wow! This is an unusual poem that is thought provoking. ❀️❀️❀️ Congratulations πŸŽ‰ on TS.

  • Belle13 days ago

    Congrats on top story!

  • D. D. Lee13 days ago

    Congrats on TS! This poem flowed so smoothly.

  • Matthew Fromm13 days ago

    Ooooo I love this, makes me miss taking the train every day. Congrats on the top story!

  • Great poem!

  • Paul Stewart13 days ago

    This is very emotionally-driven. Love the flow...it's very sad, but beautifully written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.