Poets logo

Katie- My Legacy

Never Give Up On your Stories

By Mattie :)Published 9 months ago 2 min read
3
Katie- My Legacy
Photo by Steinar Engeland on Unsplash

Katie is probably my favorite story project. Most definitely. I've always had this idea on my mind for like years. It's really what got me started writing in the first place. I first got the idea for the story during a church service years ago. As we prayed I saw an image of a lass riding a horse to some abandoned castle. It looked so real and took my breathe away. That was probably fourteen years ago and it just never stops. Talk about epic!

Katie is about a young girl growing up through hardship. she's a lot like Hanna or Katniss. She faces many trials and errors. While she's trying to figure herself out she's also left to defend and care for her little brother Ollie. It's such a raw, powerful, and emotional, character based story. I get chills just thinking about it.

This story is like a mix of historical fiction and fantasy plus so much else. A lot of viking, native American, or pirate folklore to say the least. I can hardly describe it all cause it's a lot. I'm always getting ideas. So many notes! I get ideas for different parts and write them down( more like type) occasionally. For the longest time I've struggled with creating this story cause it means so much to me. It's like more than a story. That probably sounds really strange, yet that's it. I get visions of different scenes and chapters constantly.

Growing up I watched lord of the rings a lot. Stuff like that. Ancient history always interest me. It almost feels like fiction cause life was so different back then. It's fun to step back in time and create a world without social media as the major problem. Plus who doesn't love Brothers Grimm or Aesop's Fables?

They're more than fiction. Spiritual really.

Katie was inspired by one of my cousins. I've always admired her and looked up to her. When I started writing stories I was afraid cause I didn't really know what I was doing. Like I was just following my muse basically. Yet my cousin always believed in me and gave me advice I'll always cherish. Let's just say it's been a very rough time for my cousin. I'm not going to go into all here, yet she definitely inspires me to write this story. I love you cuz more than you'll ever know.

Now I only have to actually write it....

I can't wait to actually get it on paper and out there. It's just going to be such a magical moment of my life. I'm doing all I can to make this story as perfect as possible, so please stay tuned, friends.

This is the story I want to be remembered for most of all. When you hear the title whatever it may actually be called someday I want you to be like oh yeah that was Matt's story. Never give up on your stories cause stories don't give up on us :)

love poemsinspirationalart
3

About the Creator

Mattie :)

I'm a 29 year old curious and creative soul. Spread love like a wildfire.#NonBinary #Christian #WellsFiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    This is a beautiful insight. I truly agree with the spirituality of aesop and grimms! Brilliant! Write on, Matt!!

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    What a gift for your cousin. I hope you get the story done. Every time I publish one there is such a sense of relief and joy, no matter what the outcome is.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.