Poets logo

Kaleidoscope of Angst

Overcome by colour

By B.Me Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Fetal in the blackness

A void of ruptured truth

Buried beneath the blankets

I’d been deliberately obtuse

Red flags flailed frantically

I depleted my supply

Enmeshed with blue-eyed misery

And never questioned why

Repressed my authenticity

Wide open for the kill

No fight or flight, I’m done for now

Ironically I’m still

A smooth grey stone

A vast still trove of murky emerald green

Artlessly sinking to the depths

Never to be seen..

.. White light appears, the blackness clears

And stillness dissipates

I’m buzzed back to reality

Where agony awaits

I hold on tight, I hear her truth

Pull the blankets back and sigh

Gaze out my old wood window pane

Inconsolably I cry

No insightful theory

Unjustifiably terrified

Trembling uncontrollably

Completely stupefied

Stop! The strategy is colour:

‘White fan’ .. ‘green plant’ .. ‘brown frame’

Easy now, between the bucks

Fickle bronco yet to tame

There’s solace in the reckoning

A dust filled aftermath

It settles slowly, coating me

Paves a crossroad in my path

It’s lonely and untraveled

Hard but safer, this I know

I stumble forward cautiously

Dusting off toward tomorrow

art
Like

About the Creator

B.Me

An authentic and intimate offering of lived experience and creativity. My only goal is to claim space as I am and practice this modality that provides me with the unique opportunity to reflect and express myself. Feedback is welcomed! B x

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.