Poets logo

Just Words

For the Faint of Heart

By Sara WynnPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Just Words
Photo by Amin Moshrefi on Unsplash

Your words meant nothing,

my words meant everything.

You never ever listened

to the words I was saying.

I said what I meant,

and I meant what I said.

-

No open book ever mislead

black ink to red blood

drawn up in your stead

-

Words will always hurt me,

I take them to heart-

I've raised my defenses,

I've put up my guard

now that I see you

for what you truly are.

-

In what ways does a letter lie

when the quills and the swirls

to quaint meanings imply?

When the twists in the murals

commit egregious crimes?

When you write in riddles

right in between the lines?

-

No open book ever mislead

black ink to red blood

drawn up in your stead

-

Words will always hurt me,

I take them to heart--

I've raised my defenses

I've put up my guard

now that I see you

for what you truly are.

-

You are just words

and I am all heart.

sad poetrysocial commentarylove poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Sara Wynn

Poetry is my language, and Earth is my playground.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.