Poets logo

Just Whatever

What's a Girl To Do?

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Just Whatever
Photo by Madalyn Cox on Unsplash

Another sleepless night

watching the shadows on the wall

Another stupid fight

answering a late night, fuck you, call

Nothing but bad tv on

as I ignore the text alerts

Waiting anxiously for dawn

so, I can escape it all, at work

When will my life get easier

like a toothache, that won't quit

Please just sent that random meteor

to relieve me from this shit

There has to be a way

to find some peace and satisfaction

Who do I have to pay

to do away with this distraction

My jeans fit way too tight

and last night, I bit my tongue

When I try to do what's right

I'm the one who steps in dung

If there's a hornets nest around

you can bet I'm getting stung

My ladder fell hard to the ground

with my leg stuck in the rung

Yeah, that's the way my luck goes

I don't know why I even fight it

Leave it to me, overexposed

bout the time those stupid jeans split

slam poetry

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock9 months ago

    Completely relatable. In the picture, I'm assuming the cups represent how much one cares. The stack of cups on the left are for when you're full of care while those on the right are for when you couldn't care less.

  • Omgggg, I really wish for that random meteor to hit! Fingers crossed! 🤣🤣🤣

  • Shirley Belk9 months ago

    Kelli, loved it!

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.