Poets logo

Just to Listen

I'll be there.

By Violet P. DaviesPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2
Just to Listen
Photo by Korney Violin on Unsplash

I should have just gone home

But I didn't want to be alone

And I thought I'd say all of two words and go

But it turned out you needed someone

Someone just to listen

And I was there

And I wouldn't trade that for

/

A voice like Maria Callas

Or a wealthy foreign sponsor

Or a perfect understanding of PR

If ever you need someone

Someone just to listen

I'll be there

And it doesn't really matter who you are

/

Who you are

Has changed over the years

And I've no doubt it'll have to change again

And that's fine

I can recognize the pattern now

And I accept that this calling

Is just a part of my design

/

If you have a good pair of piano hands

A glint of wit in the pit of your eyes

And an eagerness to use what's between your ears

If you want to understand more than most

And can bear to share a piece of something real

And if you have a quiet need for someone

Someone just to listen

Then I'll be there

And I'll do my best

/

Not to help too much unless it makes sense

Not to freeze up when it gets intense

I'm not a counsellor, I'm not equipped for this at all,

But I'll still come

Because this means more than almost anything I've ever done

/

So tell me

If you need someone

Someone just to listen

And I'll be there

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Violet P. Davies

Words make me feel fulfilled occasionally.

Keep track of me on Insta @purpleproseandposies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Yes sometimes people just need someone to vent to so the least we could do is be a good listener ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.