Poets logo

Heslington Haiku

More fur and feather than usual

By Violet P. DaviesPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
Heslington Haiku
Photo by Oscar Fickel on Unsplash

Sinus congestion

Never knew I needed scent

Then they broke laundry

~

Feline companions

Observed from my penthouse peak

In odd harmony

~

It's just a dirt track

That feels like a fairytale

Tangible magic

~

Quivering rabbits

Scattered leaf-dense on the lawn

Lit by greenhouse glow

~

What is this green sludge?

I ask the fowl everywhere

They keep their cards close

~

Saw him only once

Gave magic I couldn't use

Longest beloved

~

Demanding my touch

You came bounding from behind

Wee hour familiar

~

After months of mud

The crisp, steely clench of frost

Means sanctuary

~

Brittle leaf shards freeze,

Melt, are ground to black and gold

Scent of living death

~

Air caught in my throat

Tries to petrify it; softens

At length, hope returns

Haiku
1

About the Creator

Violet P. Davies

Words make me feel fulfilled occasionally.

Keep track of me on Insta @purpleproseandposies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Loved your set of Haikus! Very well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.