Poets logo

Just Stay

Poem submission for the "Short and Sweet" challenge

By Andrew ZimmermanPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
1
Just Stay
Photo by aranprime on Unsplash

Do not go, my love. Not yet. Stay for me.

Give me some time, even a day will do.

To see you is to have joy and feel warm.

Oh, how my gaze does long for your kind face,

Your grin and the red lips that I beg for.

Your skin is a rose, soft and pink from sun.

Your hair in the wind, my face in your hair,

I feel like I can sing, now wash over me.

With you I am cozy, I feel so safe,

For you pick me up when I’m low and down.

With you by my side I feel I am home.

Just sit with me for now. An hour. Or two?

So stay. Just stay. I will wait by your bed.

I will hold your hand; just do not give in,

Not to this dark. This can’t just be the end.

Stay. Push on. Do not let this sick hold sway.

How can I do this if I’m not with you?

sad poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    This is really sweet. My favorite line was “Your skin is a rose, soft and pink from sun.”

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.