Poets logo

Just over yonder...

(that hill )

By Marcus RomanoPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Abstract jumble now the aftermath. Sitting around with my friend Jose. Kind of guy you could only stand for short bursts. So I called up a friend, liked Jose more than I did and owed me a smoke. Picking me up we sped off put put across the empty streets, till we hit a bump.

"If I was not drunk I would have missed the bump."

Said the driver, as he turned around to face me. It was okay, just had to keep his eyes on the road. Nothing to it at all, been in worse situations before. Threw up on a train once...

We were in the crucible soon enough, puffing on an owl , hoot hoot the night away. Floated in the clouds and discovered color. It was all green.

Then some lady came by, had all the boys in a tussle. Paid her no mind, though she glanced at me constantly. Had a funny way of scrunching her nose, kind of liked it.

All the boys decided to dance, like slaves on the day of emancipation. They could not see the manacles getting tighter and tighter. It was time to go, so I said my good byes.

The lady, she stopped me.. said she wanted a kiss. She had the most beautiful lips you have ever seen. Pristine white, sprinkled with crystals. Like a rainbow strafing across the night. No man could resist. Despite all my pontificating I was just a man and weak.

Just one kiss, what harm could there be in that? It made me feel like one of the guys. For a while we walked together. One and three, just enjoying the crisp night air.

Then I asked "Where we going?"

"Just over yonder," was the reply as I found myself alone.

Feeling did not last for long as it seemed as if someone was on my tail. A jealous lover come after the kiss. Alert, wide eyed, I came to realize at this moment I was a live. In the depths of loneliness and madness vision became clear. Cyclops and his gaze, ruby red stretched across the face of everything.

World around me became nothing more than a blur, blending together and turning into the stars. Flying past Jupiter and one big moon, I explored the cosmos that night. Grasping the handle and taking flight.

"Just over yonder"

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.