Poets logo

Just Can’t Break Your Heart

A Poem About Hopeless Love

By Michaela MartinPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Mascara stained tears tearing me apart;

I just can't break your heart.

Hundreds of times I've been hurt;

Making me feel like the mirage of your desert.

I thought you were my lover, my life,

But your love is merely a knife

Shattering my heart of glass.

You let your love pass

Away into the thick night air

Without trying to repair

Everything we thought would last forever.

You left me here to recover

While alone in my bed I suffer;

You were my bittersweet addiction,

My drug that seduced my affection,

And our love was just a hallucination

Of my isolation.

But I just can't break your heart.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Michaela Martin

I’m an aspiring author who’d like to gain some more experience in the writing world before eventually publishing a novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.