Poets logo

Just Another Manc Melody

Telling a story the Mancunian Way

By Ushiku CrisafulliPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I am rap’s revolution, I am rap’s NXT,

not even Sammartino times graps quite like me.

Cos I’m that Manc that’s mad cocky like Antonio Inoki,

I said it in Manc, so I could spit that bar properly.

My individual awesomeness is

awkwardly auspicious.

Sushi is raw fishes

while Ushi just pauses this.

Time’s out.

Dimensions in.

Got a second-hand TARDIS

Let’s take it for a spin.

It’s a bit of a banger with a faulty time-drive,

but the spaces it can travel correspond

to our timeline.

Or is the case that it’s just perception?

What is a minute? A moment? A lesson?

I can’t cross with the Legions in 49 BC

but the universe of now can share as it sees.

I’m a penguin that’s been mending,

hope for better days as happiness is patent pending.

My heart’s ballooning then breaking,

I dance the fine line between popping and inflating.

The walls of my mind rebuilt amongst a siege,

you gotta be your own master, no lords, no liege.

Though in truth I’m somewhat of a cosmic entity,

so why the hell should I let these petty feuds get to me?

So take another shot like you’re rushin’ vodka,

but my barrel’s aged well like the finest cognac.

I don’t speak truth to power/I just speak truth to everything.

To hell with the bittersweet pills y’alls wallow in.

I got that hyper-drive, cos I travel between dimensions

but how the hell do I put watermelon in a sentence?

I just did cos I’m an Aspie Magus,

But still organic like aspa-ragus.

Asparagus? Nah mate, not for me.

It tastes proper angin' and it stinks when ya pee.

Just gave a homeless guy change after a fucking sick gig,

He said “Cheers mate, thanks arr kid”

while you're giving me evils with your leaves and your split twigs.

Jog on mate, this is Oldham Street, Manny

where the thrills are dirt cheap and the tricksters are canny.

Where smoke, folk and ideas all get blown in the alley,

and we chat shit from our hearts

with every Tom, Dick and Harry.

It’s mint.

So have a laugh, just another Manc melody,

Sporting sunny smiles but it’s pissing down terribly.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Ushiku Crisafulli

Ushiku Crisafulli is a chef, poet, playwright, actor, performance artist, comedian, musician & founder of the OpenMind Collective. He also runs the various UK Bards projects on behalf of Local Gems Poetry Press & is an ACE DYCP recipient.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.